Let’s make Okonomiyaki! – Moon’s style!

Good morning to another beautiful moonday!

Today I would like to share with you how I make my okonomiyaki – though I guess how I make it is like a mix of okonomiyaki and modanyaki. To be honest you can really get creative as long as you have to basic ingredients, which are flour, water, egg and cabbage. I really loves okonomiyaki so I ended up making it a lot at home. I learn how to make simple okonomiyaki here before I started adding my own little tweaks. When I made it for the first time I made mistakes by putting too much cabbages so it actually look like fried cabbage coated in batter. It was pretty bad, but I did learn from it and ended up making delicious okonomiyaki after many trials and errors. Alright, enough typing, I’ll move on to how to make okonomiyaki – Moon’s style. This recipes can make around 5 – 6 large okonomiyaki. 

Ingredients:

  • Half a large cabbage
  • Two cups flours (I use self raising)
  • Two cups water
  • Four eggs for the batter
  • Extra eggs for however many okonomiyaki you plans to serve
  • Tonkatsu sauce (I use the Bull Dog brand)
  • Japanese mayonnaise (I use Kewpie brand)
  • A pack of udon
  • Bonito flakes
  • Ao nori
  • Meat or seafood (I use chicken for this example but my favourite is prawn)

1. Let’s make the batter

First we are going to make to batter to be poured into the heated pan. Simply shred half a large cabbage into tiny pieces so that it will be easier to mix into the batter. Now grab a large bowl and pour two cups flour and two cups water together. After two mix the two up, crack 4 eggs and adds them into the batter mixture. When you finish mixing add the cabbage that you have shredded earlier into the batter and mix well. When you finish, put the bowl aside and let’s move on the the next step.

2. Preparing meat

Next we are going to prepare the meat to add to your okomiyaki. It’s important to slice the meat thinly so that it will be fully cook. After you slice your choice of meat into a thin strip, put it aside. You can skip this step if you don’t want to add any meat or seafood.

3. Stir frying udon

Let’s stir fry a pack of udon. Heat up your pan to medium high heat. Lightly oil the pan and wait until the pan is sufficiently heated. Add your udon to the pan and stir fly for a few minutes. Take the udon out and put them in a seperate bowl.

4. Let’s make okonomiyaki

Now let’s get to the fun part. Using the same pan that you used to stir fry the udon, add a little bit more oil. The pan should already be heated at medium high heat from when you was frying the udon earlier. Next pour the batter mix into the pan, it’s up to you on how big you want you okonomiyaki to me. However, I suggest to not make it too big as it will get extremely difficult to flip once you added all the layers. With a spatular, try to shape your mix into a circular shape. While the bottom side of the okonomiyaki are cooking we are going to add a layer of udon to the top. I use around a handful of udon, just enough that I can still see the batter at the bottom. Now use your spatular and lightly press the udon into the okonomiyaki mix. Next, crack one egg and put it in the middle of the okonomiyaki. Use the spatular the pop the yolk and try to shape any of the egg that run off. Lastly we are going to placed your choice of meat on top of the egg. The tricky part will be to flip over the okonomiyaki. Make sure that the bottom side is crispy and golden before flipping over. After you flipped over the okonomiyaki, wait around 3 – 5 minutes until the other side are cooked.

Okonomiyaki is really to served.

5. Decorating time!

I am one of those people that love playing with food. I love topping my okonomiyaki with Tonkatsu sauce, mayonnaise, bonito flakes and ao nori. Sorry  I didn’t take any picture picture for that. I simply forgot, too hungry.

I hope you like this recipe and if any one has a go please let me know! I would loves to know how it went! Thank you for reading!

See you another moonday!

2 thoughts on “Let’s make Okonomiyaki! – Moon’s style!

Leave a Reply

